top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureallison gay

How I transformed my kitchen with less then 150$





What you are starting out with.

Not everyone loves their kitchen, and it just might need a little updating. When I first moved into my house the kitchen cabinets were in good condition and painted black, and I still had granite counter tops and white appliances.


I really was not in love with this kitchen because it does not have any windows and it was extremely dark with the black cabinet color. I felt like it was so dark and just not the light and bright dream kitchen that I was envisioning.




Where I started.

Step #1 Collect supplies

You are going to need a screwdriver, sandpaper, enough paint for your cabinets (I used 1/2 gallon on the bottom and 1/2 gallon on the top), new hardware and any other decor items you want to decorate with.


Step #2 remove the doors

I took and electric screwdriver that I already had to make the process a little faster and unscrewed all of the hardware from the doors and the base of the cabinets and put all the hardware into a bucket so I would not lose it.


Step #3 sand everything down

I got a little hand sander from my Home Depot for around 15$ and lightly sanded the base of the cabinets and the cabinet doors themselves. This helps the paint stick and last against the heavy wear and tear kitchen cabinets get.


Step #4 paint

For me I knew I had to get rid of the black paint. Two tone cabinets are very trendy right now, so I decided to paint the bottom cabinets sage green and the top white. Sage green is one of my favorite colors and it looks great on cabinets (and hides messes better than white). I used the color Bay Water from Bear. (Very similar to the color of the year for 2022!) The paint was around 35$ at my Home Depot. I did 2 coats and a touch up and it took around 2 days to get everything done because I work fulltime so I only had afternoons.


Step #5 Put everything back together.

I used the same hinges as before I just cleaned them. I used the same screwdriver and put all the doors back on and installed the new hardware. After I choose the paint color I wanted to update my hardware. I went with leather pulls and I think it looks so trendy. I ordered them on amazon

Door Pulls, Drawer Pulls I could not find the exact items I ordered but these are similar to my pulls.


Step #6 Decorate

When it was all done Painting and installing my hardware, I decorated my counter tops very minimalistic and went for a wooden knife block and wooden cooking utensils to go with the brown leather pulls and I also added snake plant to bring some life and greenery into the room.

In Christmas time ill put the 3 little white houses on the countertop that have battery powered tealights in them.

I also put my dish soap into an oil dispenser to make it look more pretty.


Optional:

I like the granite counter tops and I knew I wanted to change the look without the project costing a fortune so I knew I was going to leave them. If you have counter tops that you do not like a very cost effective way of changing the look of them is to get a faux marble Vinyl.



That pretty much it! It's not so expensive to update your kitchen after all. 150$ changed my entire kitchen. If you want to see more inexpensive updates, follow me on Instagram I post more frequently on stories, and you will get more behind the scenes. Have any questions on how I did anything let me know in the comments I will be happy to answer them for you! I do have a few more fun little projects coming soon, make sure you subscribe so you don't miss anything! Thanks for reading.









4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page